How are night shift hours tracked?
When tracking night shift hours, depending on your business' needs, you can either choose to split time entries automatically at midnight or let the timer run past midnight and hours counted towards the clock in date.
To set up your preference for night shift time tracking:
- Go to Settings
- Select Time Options
- Enable or disable "Split Timesheet at Midnight"
When Split Timesheets at Midnight is ENABLED, every calendar day at midnight, a member's time entry will be split at midnight so that hours after midnight are counted for the following day as a new time entry. An "Automatic clock out" message will be added to the clock out time and a "Clocked in from the previous day" message will be added to the clock in time.
When Split Timesheets at Midnight is DISABLED, a member's time entry will continue to run past midnight and all hours tracked will be counted towards the clock in date. In these cases, if a team member forgets to clock out and the timer runs for a longer period, you may see more than 24 hours tracked in a single calendar day.
When adding time entries, if the clock out time is earlier than the clock in time, the added time entry will be considered as a night shift entry and a moon icon will be added in the new time entry page. Depending on your time option settings, described above, the time entry will either be split or be counted towards the clock in date.